Recommendations for Kids

Discover your new favorite book by exploring our curated lists. 

Best New Youth Books

  • Cover image for The Other Half of Happy

    The Other Half of Happy

    Rebecca Balcárcel

    The Other Half of Happy

    Rebecca Balcárcel

    Quijana is a girl in pieces. One-half Guatemalan, one-half American: When Quijana's Guatemalan cousins move to town, her dad seems ashamed that she doesn't know more about her family's heritage.

    Read more about The Other Half of Happy.
  • Cover image for Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

    Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

    Kwame Mbalia

    Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

    Kwame Mbalia

    Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Kwame Mbalia's epic fantasy, a middle grade American Gods set in a richly-imagined world populated with African American folk heroes and West African gods.

    Read more about Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky.
  • Cover image for Bringing Down A President

    Bringing Down A President

    Andrea Balis

    Bringing Down A President

    Andrea Balis

    An inventive and timely look at one of the biggest scandals to ever rock our nation: Watergate, told engagingly in screenplay format with primary sources.In this middle grade re-telling of one of t

    Read more about Bringing Down A President.
  • Cover image for Maybe He Just Likes You

    Maybe He Just Likes You

    Barbara Dee

    Maybe He Just Likes You

    Barbara Dee

    Barbara Dee explores the subject of #MeToo for the middle grade audience in this heart-wrenching—and ultimately uplifting—novel about experiencing harassment and unwanted attention from classmates.

    Read more about Maybe He Just Likes You.
  • Cover image for Dead Voices

    Dead Voices

    Katherine Arden

    Dead Voices

    Katherine Arden

    Having survived sinister scarecrows and the malevolent "Smiling Man" in Small Spaces, newly minted best friends Ollie, Coco and Brian spend winter break together along with their parents at Mount H

    Read more about Dead Voices.
  • Cover image for Brave the Page

    Brave the Page

    National Novel Writing Month

    Brave the Page

    National Novel Writing Month

    The official NaNoWriMo handbook that inspires young people to tackle audacious goals and complete their creative projects.

    Read more about Brave the Page.
  • Cover image for Count Me In

    Count Me In

    Bajaj, Varsha

    Count Me In

    Bajaj, Varsha

    Karina Chopra would have never imagined becoming friends with the boy next door--after all, they've avoided each other for years and she assumes Chris is just like the boys he hangs out with, who s

    Read more about Count Me In.
  • Cover image for Remarkables

    Remarkables

    Margaret Peterson Haddix

    Remarkables

    Margaret Peterson Haddix

    New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, the master of cliffhangers, delivers a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline West and Kat Yeh, full of secrets, surprises

    Read more about Remarkables.

Best New Picture Books & Easy Readers

  • Cover image for Small Walt and Mo the Tow

    Small Walt and Mo the Tow

    Elizabeth Verdick

    Small Walt and Mo the Tow

    Elizabeth Verdick

    “Rosenthal’s drawings feel like a contemporary take on [Virginia Lee] Burton’s spirit.” —The New York Times Book Review “Children ages 3–7 will rejoice as in Marc Rosenthal’s retro illustrations th

    Read more about Small Walt and Mo the Tow.
  • Cover image for Fun, Fun, Fun!

    Fun, Fun, Fun!

    Derek Anderson

    Fun, Fun, Fun!

    Derek Anderson

    For fans of Elephant & Piggie and Frog & Toad comes an easy-to-read series about another unlikely pair: Croc and Ally.

    Read more about Fun, Fun, Fun!.
  • Cover image for Look Out! A Storm!

    Look Out! A Storm!

    David Milgrim

    Look Out! A Storm!

    David Milgrim

    Otto and his friends are back in this Pre-Level 1 Ready-to-Read by New York Times bestselling author/illustrator, David Milgrim. Look Out! A Storm!

    Read more about Look Out! A Storm!.
  • Cover image for Charlie & Mouse Even Better

    Charlie & Mouse Even Better

    Laurel Snyder

    Charlie & Mouse Even Better

    Laurel Snyder

    In this heartwarming follow-up to Laurel Snyder's awardwinning beginning chapter book Charlie & Mouse, the two brothers prepare to celebrate one very special birthday: their mom's!

    Read more about Charlie & Mouse Even Better.
  • Cover image for ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market

    ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market

    Raúl the Third

    ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market

    Raúl the Third

    Richard Scarry’s Busytown gets a Mexican-American makeover in the marketplace of a buzzing border town from Pura Belpré Medal-winning illustrator Raúl the Third.

    Read more about ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market.
  • Cover image for The Titanosaur

    The Titanosaur

    Diego Pol, José Luis Carballido

    The Titanosaur

    Diego Pol, José Luis Carballido

    Scholastic and the American Museum of Natural History join forces in a thrilling new picture book about the discovery of the Titanosaur -- the biggest, heaviest creature to ever walk Earth!

    Read more about The Titanosaur.
  • Cover image for Garden Day!

    Garden Day!

    Candice Ransom

    Garden Day!

    Candice Ransom

    A welcome-to-spring Step 1 reader featuring the family from Pumpkin Day!, Apple Picking Day!, and Snow Day! It's springtime, and the perfect day to plant a garden!

    Read more about Garden Day!.
  • Cover image for Puddle

    Puddle

    Richard Jackson

    Puddle

    Richard Jackson

    A surprising, universal, and gorgeously illustrated story about self-acceptance, love, friendship, and the joy of embracing different perspectives, this beautiful picture book by acclaimed author R

    Read more about Puddle.
  • Cover image for Because

    Because

    Mo Willems

    Because

    Mo Willems

    Mo Willems, a number one New York Times best-selling author and illustrator, composes a powerful symphony of chance, discovery, persistence, and magic in this moving tale of a young girl's journey

    Read more about Because.