The Hunger Games Read-a-likes

Posted by: RachaelC | Posted on: Nov 25 2015

With Mockingjay Part 2 coming to theaters soon, I have Hunger Games fever! If you’re like me, you’ve reread The Hunger Games trilogy countless times. While some say the dystopian fiction craze is over, we know many readers are still loyal fans. So if you're looking for a new book that has the adventure, unrest, and epic feel of The Hunger Games, look no further.

Picture of book coverCity of Savages by Lee Kelly

Two sisters try to survive in the ruins of New York City post-World War III. Sky, Phee, and their mother, Sarah, navigate bombed-out streets and scavenge food. In the summertime, they live in an abandoned Wall Street apartment. In winter, they join the POW camp in Central Park. However, when strangers from the outside world show up in the park, their existence as they know it begins to unravel.

 

 

Picture of book coverUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim. Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He's also wild - a savage - but might be her best hope at staying alive.

 

 

Picture of book coverUndertow by Michael Buckley

See two worlds collide as New York City’s Coney Island becomes occupied by the Alpha, an ocean-dwelling race that is nothing like the mermaids of myth. But, what if the Alpha aren’t actually the enemy? What if they are in fact humanity’s only hope for survival? Because the real enemy is coming. And it’s more terrifying than anything the world has ever seen.

 

 

picture of book coverPerfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

On the floating city of Internment, you can be anything you dream - a novelist or a singer, a florist or a factory worker... Your life is yours to embrace or to waste. There's only one rule: you don't approach THE EDGE. If you do, it's already over.

 

 

Picture of book coverProxy by Alex London

Knox is a "patron," a privileged and wealthy citizen of Mountain City. His proxy, Syd, is a person who is contractually obligated to serve out Knox's punishments. When Knox accidentally kills a girl, the sixteen year sentence at the Old Sterling Work Colony is too great a punishment for Syd to bear, so he escapes. An action-packed thrill ride ensues where Syd meets up with Knox, who helps him flee.

 

Hungry for more?

Check out our display in the Teen Lounge. May the odds of finding your favorite new book be ever in your favor.